Stoddard’s Fine Food & Ale cocktail program rekindled the creative spirit of our forefathers Jerry Thomas, William “Cocktail Bill” Boothby, Ada Coleman, Harry Craddock & Don the Beachcomber. The barkeeps here will hand-shave (or chip, when necessary) from a block of ice, pound ice in a bag & yell at spirits to get in the glass… when crafting and resurrecting these long-forgotten elixirs.
In addition to the craft cocktails offered. Our beer menu focuses on local American style ales and lagers, mixed with some of the best offerings from across the US & Europe. We can have around 80 different beer selections at any one time including: 20 beers on top, 5 cask ales –one if largest number under one roof in the United States.
Our immense bar, standing 15 feet high and 30 feet long, was imported from West Yorkshire, UK from the world leading hand carver of bars, Andy Thornton; it is an oversized replica of the “Del Monte # 1” Which was originally constructed in the 1900 by the Brunswick-Balke-Collender Corporation of Chicago.
Our appetizers range from $8-14 and include items such as: Cask Ale and Smoked Gouda made English Style with local cask conditioned ale served with house-made pretzel bites; House Charcuterie Plate (House made pates, terrines, salamis with pickles and toast). Entrees range between $15-31 and feature choices like: Stoddard’s Burger (All natural Meyer ranch beef and short rib, chiffonade lettuce, B&B pickles, and steak fries); and Au Natural Pot Pies, Prime Beef Rib-Eyes, Duck & Fresh Seafood.
Unique Historical Elements:
The former quarters of Stoddard’s Fine Cutlery and home to original tenant Chandler’s Corset Store, this 1868 building is one of the new structures to survive the Great Fire of 1872 and is listed on the Temple Place National Historic Register. Over the past two years, the partners of Stoddard’s Fine Food & Ale have meticulously researched and rehabilitated the space, preserving the historical opulence and unique facets that remain in-tact today. Authentic 1868 wooden clapboards line the walls of the vestibule as diamond-tufted leather adorned with nickel studs covers the ceiling and booths in the entryway. Garments from the original Chandler’s Corset Store are encased and on display upon entering. The Railings from the original Filene’s store (c. 1912) section off various spaces, including two active mezzanines that are raised up and attached to the bordering brick walls. The rear of the main space is ornamented with soldered galvanized steel frosted windows from the early 1930’s that hide a long-forgotten entrance. On the lower level, which boast hand painted gold scrollwork that is replicated on the dinner menu. Chandeliers and light fixtures form the Mary Street Station stop that formerly protected the safe will serve as the bar’s foot rail.
We are open:
Tuesday & Wednesday from 11:30am to 1:00am.
Thursday through Saturday from 11:30am to 2:00am
Sunday 11:30am to 12:00am
Stoddard’s Fine Food & Ale is located in the Ladder Blocks of Boston’s historic Downtown Crossing at 48 Temple Place
A brief History of our famous building:
Built in 1868 in the Greek revival style, the building located at 48 Temple Place in Downtown Crossing was one of the first in Boston to use milled granite from the nearby Quincy quarry on its façade. This enabled the structure to survive Boston’s great fire of 1872, which destroyed 800 structures between Boston Common and the Waterfront. As a result, 48 Temple Place is among the oldest buildings in the area.
The original occupant in 1868 was Chandler’s Corset Store. In that era Temple Place was the “Newbury Street” of Boston, focusing on female fashion. The next tenant was a sewing machine retailer, and soon after that it became home to the fourth business incorporated in the United States. Founded in 1800 as Stoddard’s Bait and Tackle, when the waters of the harbor were a stone’s throw away, the store quickly evolved into Stoddard’s Fine Cutlery. There were many historic events occurring at that time: John Adams was moving into the White House, while the Boston Tea Party, Boston Massacre, and the siege of Boston were still within the memory of Stoddard’s earliest customers.
Our history is also expressed in or architecture and décor:
Temple Place was once the “Newbury Street” of Boston focusing on female fashion. Our murals capture Temple Place as the highlight of the Ladder District in the late 1800’s notice the steeple of the Masonic Temple ate the Boston Common end of the Temple Place
Corsets in the front pay tribute to Chandler’s Corset Store, the building’s first occupant. The scrollwork on the menu headers was actually the hand painted accent scrollwork from the Chandler’s safe (Hidden on-site) the menu itself was actually and original druggist license from 1909, which we recreated. It was actually all handmade and stamped to produce the red etching on the perimeter. At that time Alcohol was considered a drug and the picture on the cocktail menu was on the original license as a watermark. The all cast-iron mezzanines and railing were originally constructed and installed in 1912; they are all reclaimed from the historic Filene’s Building.
The accent wood that lines the entryway, lift vestibule, and bathroom ceiling is original floorboards harvested in-site during demolition. They have only been cleaned, sealed and hung. Charring from the old coal blast furnace that once existed can be seen on many of these boards. The Foot rail at the bar is an original Trolley track from the oldest subway station in the U.S. the Park Street Trolley Station on the Tremont St. Subway opened in September 1897, almost 25 years after this building finished reconstruction from the Great Fire.